The American Transportation Research Institute (ATRI) released updates to idling regulations for truck drivers.
The updates are geared at helping truck drivers avoid fines for idling too long.
ATRI added six new idling laws to this update including, Madison, Wisconsin; Sandy, Utah; Newark, Delaware; Ithaca, New York; Logan, Utah; and Summit County, Utah.
Madison, Wisconsin – The maximum idling time is 5 consecutive minutes, but no limit if the outside temperature is less than 20 degrees Fahrenheit or higher than 90 degrees Fahrenheit. Fines range from $25-200.
Sandy, Utah – The maximum idle time is 1 minute. After an initial warning is issued, the fine cam be as high as $750.
Newark, Delaware – The maximum idling time is 5 consecutive minutes in any 60-minute period, and 15 consecutive minutes if the outside temperature is less than 32 degrees Fahrenheit, and no limit if the outside temperature is below -10 degrees Fahrenheit. After an initial warning, fines start at $100.
Ithaca, New York – The maximum idle time is 5 minutes with fines up to $250.
Logan, Utah – Maximum idle time is 2 minutes, although no limit if the outside temperature is 0 degrees Fahrenheit.
Summit County, Utah – Maximum idle time is 1 minute with fees starting at $60.
The full list of regulations highlights all idling ordinances adopted since 2004. A cab card with consolidated listings of idling regulations is also available.
Questions? Contact ACE Heavy Haul
ACE Heavy Haul’s Safety Team is ready to assist with driver education and training to ensure the company’s fleet is safe on the road and compliant with the latest laws, as well as up-to-date with road closures and construction. Contact us if you have more questions.